Biweekly Report — I : GSoC Community Bonding Period @ Wikimedia Foundation

Bhaarat Kumar Khatri
2 min readJun 26, 2021

--

Hey Guys, Today I will share my community period experience with wikimedia foundation through this blog.

On May 17, Finally I got a mail from GSoC. Hi Bhaarat Kumar Khatri , Your Proposal ___ has been accepted.

That day I was super excited. It was something like I can’t express in words. It was a wonderful moment for me. That day I didn’t sleep the whole night because of excitement.

Little insight about my project

The front page of Wikipedia: www.wikipedia.org, underwent a subtle renewal in 2016. The code was moved from a series of scripts on meta.mediawiki.org into a git repository which utilizes Mustache templates and a build step to generate the final HTML page. Unfortunately, Wikimedia’s other projects, wikiversity.org ,wikibooks.org, wikinews.org, wikiquote.org, wiktionary.org left out of this renewal and their pages are still generated via the scripts on meta.wikimedia.org. The sister portals are still just HTML source code maintained as wiki pages on Meta-Wiki (with some Lua modules semi-automating updates). They wouldn’t benefit from wikipedia.org’s dynamic features.

The main aim of this project is that all the sister portals use the same build system and resources. By Using (templates, scripts, styles) of www.wikipedia.org , we can get the same build system to all sister portals.

Week 1

My community period started with meeting with some awesome minds who are selected for GSoC/outreachy and admins of wikimedia.

I am in 3rd row last column with smiling face.😊

I was really excited to start my work but before I start writing code, I have to give clarification to myself about each detail of the codebase.

So I go through the documentary of my project more deeply to understand the function and flow of the project.

Week 2

Get to know more about gulp pipelines

Factor out common files (templates, postcss, js, i10jsons) which will be used in all portals with the discussion with mentor. I love the way my mentor help me to understand the codebase😁.I want to work with even after GSoC period.

Overview

Overall my community bonding period was really great, the mentors is awesome and so cooperative .I’m extremely excited to start working on my code :-)

--

--